All my products and services are free. All my costs are met by donations I receive from my users. If you enjoy using any of my products, please donate to support me. Thank you for your support. Tom Speirs

Patreon

Bug Report: Illegal characters [RESOLVED]

greynurse

First off, let me say that I'm new to Pinballx but I am definitely staying with it as it is 1): needed to play VPX tables, and 2):the easiest front end I've tried when it comes to get up and running. Having said that, there is one issue (well, OK, probably more) that needs to be addressed, and reading through the forums, seems to be long overdue.

This is the form of users running up against illegal characters being transferred over to .xml files and being the source of  mismatches in media files. The database in Pinballx that gives table descriptions is the culprit here, as far as I can tell. Other users have posted problems with corrupted .xml files crashing the games manager. I have had this happen to me as well, and the first time I lost my Future Pinball .xml (a blessing in disguise actually). But then I noticed media files were not correct for some of the tables. I haven't filled my media directories yet by a long shot, as I will wait until I have entered all the tables first, checked the descriptions, then I will use something like PBX recorder. But just getting the wheel images to behave and not do things like change from the one i selected to another, or just simply not appear when I load Pinballx came down to double checking table descriptions for illegal characters.