All my products and services are free. All my costs are met by donations I receive from my users. If you enjoy using any of my products, please donate to support me. Thank you for your support. Tom Speirs

Patreon

Steam In-Home Streaming

KadreVex

Hey,

I'm very new to game ex so I'm not totally sure this has been answered but i did search and found nothing..

Steam recently integrated in home streaming over network from one PC to another and I was wondering if there is a way to run games like this through game ex. I have a PC with all my steam games installed upstairs and a htpc with game ex downstairs and it would be great to be able to stream my steam games only using the game ex frontend, Is there a way to do this?

Thanks

Not sure why you would need to do that. I install my Steam games on the server and point both my laptop and cabinet to that directory and it works fine. Each install sees the directory as just a local directory.

Disclaimer: I have a fast network so it may be an issue if you were to share that directory in a workgroup or something.

I think the difference is that each machine pointed to your server is still responsible for running the game locally, right? With in-home streaming the host machine is actually running the game while the client machine is just relaying input and displaying purdy pictures. This way you can run Steam games on a low power HTPC in the living room (even one that is running Linux/Steam OS), while your Windows gaming rig somewhere else is actually doing all the heavy lifting.

I don't use it all the time, but it comes in handy when I do. This way you only need one powerful gaming rig, while every other machine in the house just leeches off that one.