All my products and services are free. All my costs are met by donations I receive from my users. If you enjoy using any of my products, please donate to support me. Thank you for your support. Tom Speirs

Patreon

Potential Netflix API Alternative

cartisdm

I can't even begin to express how bummed I am that Netflix discontinued their public API. Building a 100% compatible front-end for my HTPC absolutely includes Netflix because my wife and I watch it daily. It sucks we would have to constantly exit GameEx and launch a browser with the keyboard/mouse.

That being said, I've been digging into alternatives. I'm very new to this community so please stop me if I'm duplicating efforts. I am not a programmer but here are two potential solutions:

Basic Info: Andrew Sampson built a custom Netflix API using data scraping called Netflix Roulette. His API categorizes the Netflix library in almost real-time using bots to gather information

Problems: Legality. This is an area I'm unfamiliar with but first thing that comes to mind is Netflix is eventually going to catch on and may put a stop to this

Netflix Roulette API

Andrew's Personal Page talking about his project

Discussion on Reddit

Basic Info: A web software called Kimono boasts the ability to create an API for any website. It is free at the moment for a basic account.

Problems: Too soon to tell. I am unfamiliar with how to initiate a project like this

Kimono Labs Website

I hope this is all ok and not breaking forum rules. Like I said, I'm brand new to this community but building a dedicate HTPC/emulator machine has been a dream project of mine for years so I'm very excited.

It's a real bummer that netflix has gone this route for sure.