All my products and services are free. All my costs are met by donations I receive from my users. If you enjoy using any of my products, please donate to support me. Thank you for your support. Tom Speirs

Patreon

ROMs won't load in GameEx and I get a black screen

Nippon

Hello,

I'm new to GameEx and the whole world of retro gaming. I tried posting this to another topic but got no answer so I thought I'd start a new one. I can get my ROMs to load in GameEx and see them in the list. However, when I select the game it won't open and I just get a black screen. I can get the games to work outside of GameEx when I just run it through the MAME emulator. Can someone take a look at my log files and tell me what I'm doing wrong? Thanks!

GameEx.ini

log.txt

Run the GameEX setup wizard and find Advanced MAME Options.

Remove the -nowindow -hwstretch -ddraw leaving MAME Options completely blank. MAME will apply what it needs to from the mame.ini

Also, in the setup wizard, ensure the rom path points to the exact same location as the rom path option in your mame.ini

rompath roms

C:\Users\Shuan P\Desktop\MameUI64\ROMs

Is your MameUI64 folder on your desktop?

It may be better to have your MAMEUI64.exe and ROMs in a folder on your c:\ drive. Generally, C:\Users\ is a hidden and protected location and may cause programs to not respond properly or update needed files within as a result.

• Like 1

It may be better to have your MAMEUI64.exe and ROMs in a folder on your c:\ drive. Generally, C:\Users\ is a hidden and protected location and may cause programs to not respond properly or update needed files within as a result.

Good point there. I'd actually move the entire MAMEUI folder to C:\

• Like 1