All my products and services are free. All my costs are met by donations I receive from my users. If you enjoy using any of my products, please donate to support me. Thank you for your support. Tom Speirs

Patreon

[EMUS] Emulators - what are your favorites?

Draco1962

As I am just getting started, I am finding it a bit overwhelming identifying which emulators I want to use with GameEx. I have checked various forums to try to determine which ones are actively supported, are not a major pain to configure and use, and are the most true to the original system. So far, I have enjoyed a bit of success with MAMEUI64 and Project 64. I see there are others (such as MESS) which are alleged to support a multitude of consoles, but I have yet to explore it. My concern is the fidelity to the original system it is emulating and ease of setup and maintenance. Can one program do it all and do it well?

That is why I decided to start this topic so that GameEx users of all levels of experience can share with others their favorites, issues they have encountered, and how they resolved them. I know that some of there will probably be some references to other threads, but that is OK.

As I am just getting started, I am finding it a bit overwhelming identifying which emulators I want to use with GameEx. I have checked various forums to try to determine which ones are actively supported, are not a major pain to configure and use, and are the most true to the original system. So far, I have enjoyed a bit of success with MAMEUI64 and Project 64. I see there are others (such as MESS) which are alleged to support a multitude of consoles, but I have yet to explore it. My concern is the fidelity to the original system it is emulating and ease of setup and maintenance. Can one program do it all and do it well?